Flourless Banana Muffins

Last week I had what I would like to call a “baking crisis.” I had this crazy urge to bake banana muffins, but quickly realized that I was out of some of the crucial ingredients I needed…such as flour. Instead of waiting to go to the store and buy flour, I was determined. So I began substituting the ingredients that I didn’t have. What resulted was a combination of many different recipes and ingredient substitution websites (many of the flourless recipes called for Greek or regular yogurt, neither of which I actually had). I was surprised to find that these turned out to be delicious!

Flourless Banana Muffins
2 1/2 cup oats
1 cup plain Greek yogurt (or substitute with 1 cup sour cream)
2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar (I use slightly less than this and will use closer to 1/2 cup the next time I make them)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 over ripe bananas, smashed

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2) Spray muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray or grease with Crisco (or line with liners. Foil works best, but I used paper and they worked just fine. If you use paper, you just need to make sure muffins are completely cool before you try to eat them. Otherwise, half of the muffin ends up stuck to the paper liner)
3) Place oats in a large food processor and blend until smooth, almost flour-like texture. Pour into large mixing bowl.
4) Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl and stir until combined.
5) Divide batter evenly into the muffin pan.
6) Bake 20-25 minutes for full size muffins, 10-15 minutes for mini muffins. Test with toothpick to make sure they are done!

Happy baking!

One thought on “Flourless Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

